Thursday, June 18, 2009

And the winners are...

The NHL handed out the awards on Thursday, celebrating excellence from the 2008-09 season. Mixing the glitz and excitement of Las Vegas with the best that the NHL has to offer from its premier players.

The nights awards took on a Russian theme with three of the most prominant Russians in the NHL claiming six of the trophies available for the night's awarding. After that the next largest represented group would be Boston Bruins with five Bruins winning or sharing in four trophies.

And the winners were:

Hart Trophy-- Alexander Ovechkin
Lester B Pearson Trophy-- Alexander Ovechkin
Rocket Richard Trophy-- Alexander Ovechkin
Selke Trophy-- Pavel Datsyuk
Lady Byng Trophy-- Pavel Datsyuk
Art Ross Trophy-- Evgeni Malkin
Vezina Trophy-- Tim Thomas
William Jennings Trophy-- Tim Thomas and Manny Fernandez
Norris Trophy-- Zdeno Chara
Jack Adams Trophy-- Claude Julien
Calder Trophy-- Steve Mason
Bill Masterton Trophy-- Steve Sullivan
Mark Messier Leadership Trophy-- Jarome Iginla
Lifetime Achievement Award-- Jean Beliveau
Scotia Bank Fan Award-- Roberto Luongo

First All Star Team

Goal-- TimThomas, Boston
Defense-- Mike Green, Washington
Defense-- Zdeno Chara, Boston
Left Wing-- Alex Ovechkin, Washington
Centre-- Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh
Right Wing-- Jarome Iginla, Calgary

Second All Star Team

Goal-- Steve Mason, Columbus
Defense-- Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
Defense-- Dan Boyle, San Jose
Left Wing-- Zach Parise, New Jersey
Centre-- Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit
Right Wing-- Marian Hossa, Detroit

All Rookie Team

Goal-- Steve Mason, Columbus
Defense-- Drew Doughty, Los Angeles
Defense-- Luke Schenn, Toronto
Forward-- Kris Versteeg, Chicago
Forward-- Bobby Ryan, Anaheim Ducks
Forward-- Patrik Berglund, St. Louis Ovechkin, Bruins have big night at NHL Awards Show
Toronto Star-- Alexander is great again

No comments: