Wednesday, March 05, 2014

Trade Deadline 2014: Tick, Tock, you're OFF the clock -- Segment Five, After the horn

As the buzzer sounds, a number of high profile names have not been delivered to new teams.

The two of the most high profiles that of Ryan Kesler, Thomas Vanek still with their respective teams, though cautionary tones continue that something may have been arranged as the deadline came and passed.

TSN opens up the post deadline hour with a quick synopsis of who is left on their Trade Bait board and then turn their attention towards the Maple Leafs who were rather quiet on Deadline Day.

As word begins to filter out the post deadline announcements included:

3:10 PM ET /12:10 PM PT
Raphael Diaz is Broadway bound as the Rangers and Canucks swing a deal, Vancouver picking up a 5th round pick in exchange. ( NHL Trade Alert )

3:12 PM ET / 12:12 PM PT
The Flames pick up a draft pick from Colorado as Goaltender Reto Berra heads to the Avalanche (NHL Trade Alert)

3:15 PM ET / 12:15 PM PT
The Red Wings and Nashville Predators make a move, with David Legwand off to the Motor City. Going Nashville way are Patrick Eaves, Calle Jamkrok and a conditional 3rd round pick in the 2014 draft (NHL Trade Alert)

3:17 PM ET /12:17 PM PT
The Thomas Vanek watch comes to an end, as Montreal picks him up from the New York Islanders, the Islanders receive prospect Sebastien Colberg in return. (NHL Trade Alert)

3:22 PM ET / 3:22 PM PT
Minnesota continues to make some moves, adding forwards Matt Moulson and Cody McCormick to the lineup, sending Torrey Mitchell and other considerations to Buffalo. (NHL Trade Alert)

The first of the parade of the General Manager's begins, with Dave Nonis appearing at a press conference to outline why the Leafs made no moves on Deadline day. Nonis observes that there wasn't a lot available today, with some indications that more movement will come in the league in June. Both Sportsnet and TSN cover the event as though they are receiving a papal encyclical.

3:35 PM ET / 12:35 PM PT
He hardly had time to get measured for a mask, Jaroslav Halak is off to Washington as Buffalo makes another move. (NHL Trade Alert)

Ah those are some nice optics Mike.. Vancouver Canucks GM Mike Gillis holds his presser from the golf course, which of course will provide every media outlet in Vancouver with a backdrop for the rest of the regular season. As for content, Gillis doesn't go into specifics into the Deadline day dynamics, with little information on whether Ryan Kesler was ever close to being traded today.

Sportsnet shifts to the Canucks practice session, where they engage in a lively game of read the body language as Ryan Kesler skates around the rink.

Next up on our travelogue, TSN takes us to Calgary, where Ottawa Senators GM Bryan Murray (nowhere near a golf course we might add) outlines his thoughts on the moves Ottawa made today and how he saw the deadline shopping options on the day. Apparently holding his conference from a room at a Calgary Motel 6.

To Winnipeg TSN takes us next, as Kevin Chevaldayoff outlines the deadline day workload for the Jets, which didn't provide for anything on the trading floor, but did secure Mark Stuart to a four year extension.

Over on Sportsnet, Thomas Vanek offers up his reactions to the much anticipated move, with Montreal winning the Vanek sweepstakes. Following the Vanek discussion it's another look in to the Vancouver practice in Phoenix, where everyone it seems wants to give Ryan Kesler a hug. From there some discussion on whether the newest BC drama "What about Ryan" will continue through the rest of the season or if it goes into hibernation until the Amateur Draft of June.

And as if on cue to send the Canuck's fan base into a collective scream, Sportsnet takes us to Florida. Where the Panthers are holding a press conference, where hello there Lou, Roberto Luongo outlines his excitement at rejoining the Panthers. Luongo makes mention of the new Florida ownership, his agent's work in making the return possible and that this isn't the start of his sunset years, he wants to help make the Panthers competitive.

4:05 PM ET / 1:05 PM PT
Anaheim and Ottawa announce a deal that sees Andre Petersson head for California, while Alex Grant heads for the Senators. (NHL Trade Alert)

TSN takes us back to the cross Canada tour, with Edmonton's Craig MacTavish outlining the day that the Oilers had, with a few deals made and where he sees the Oilers heading as the remainder of the season moves forward.  He touched on the nature of the Hemsky trade and how whichever team made the best bid (Ottawa as it turned out) was getting pretty good talent that could make the difference. MacTavish also revealed some of the discussions between he and Ryan Smith regarding the deadline and how talks between the Oilers and other teams.

The tour of the GM's moves on to Florida, with Steve Yzerman holding a press conference to reflect on the biggest deal of the day, which saw the Lightning send Martin St. Louis to the Rangers, with Ryan Callahan joining Tampa for the push towards the Stanley Cup playoffs.

4:52 PM ET / 1:52 PM PT
The Flames make a last, last, last second trade, with the Penguins picking up Lee Stempniak from Calgary, in return the Flames receive a third round pick. (NHL Trade Alert)

5:10 PM ET / 2:10 PM PT
One late to the announcement party deal gets relayed, with word that Tampa Bay made a minor deal to bring their day to an end. With Jonathan Marchessault and Dalton Smith going to Columbus, in return the Blue Jackets send Matt Taormina and Dana Tyrell to the Lightning (NHL Trade Alert)

5:50 PM ET / 2:50 PM PT
An unusual trade comes in under the wire, with the LA Kings and San Jose Sharks making a rare exchange of players.  With Los Angles acquiring James Livingston from the Sharks, with a Conditional 7th Round pick in 2016 destined for San Jose. (NHL Trade Alert)

No comments: